Black Bean Brownies

Ok. So you’re for sure going to think I’m crazy on this, but that healthy, chocolatey SECRET I told you about???

Wait for it…

Wait for iiittt……

BLACK BEAN BROWNIES

Yes, kiddies. I made black bean brownies last night and let me TELL you – ok, yeah, they need a little work. First off, let me say that I tasted zero percent of the beans. Truth. It mainly tasted like a chocolate-banana treat. So no, it didn’t taste like a brownie, but it did taste like a treat. My main issue was consistency. They’re not really supposed to come out the same as a brownie, but really more like fudge-blocks. They’re a good bit more dense than regular brownies, but I’m positive that, with a little change to the recipe, they’d be really good. Next time, I’m going to add a little more cocoa, a little less banana, and a little more oatmeal. All in all – I say try this recipe but with my modifications. It’s pretty good AND it’s not nearly as horrible for you as regular brownies.

 

(Also, I forgot to take the “This is what you’ll need” pic. I was a little excited, ok??)

 

I'm a real cook, not a professional, therefore all I had was two cheap processors!

Ingredients: 15 ounces black beans, drained and rinsed

2 whole bananas

⅓ cup agave nectar (for those of you needing less sugar-per-serving, I’m pretty sure you can use honey)

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

¼ cup raw sugar (optional)

¼ cup instant oats

Instructions: Preheat oven to 350F. Grease anf 8×8″ pan and set aside. Combine all ingredients, except oats, in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth, scrapping sides as needed. Stir in the oats and pour batter into the pan. Bake approx 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before slicing.

 

– The Kitschy Kitchen

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mirka
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 01:50:32

    Aha, I see that you snuck in a vegan treat. 🙂 I know beans are used in Asian sweets all the time so I can see how this one would work. I just might try this one with your modification suggestions!

    I love your blog! It’s so great that you tried out this recipe. Do you have any recipes for vegan cupcakes? I’m not a vegan, I’m just looking for healthier treats. 🙂

    Reply

    • ohthatgirlyouknow
      Jul 30, 2010 @ 02:35:47

      Yeah, I have a few. They’re probably less healthy than this one, but more tasty.

      The funny thing about it is that I don’t consider most of these vegan. I mean, I got it from a vegan website, but food is food and the healthier the better, you know? I had a friend on facebook say, “oh this is gross!” about black bean brownies, but if people could just get past the IDEA of what some of this stuff is, they could actually branch out and discover things.

      Reply

  2. Mirka
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 18:37:44

    I know what you mean, I love the idea of trying to use ingredients in different ways like beans in brownies! It’s a way of making things healthier…you just snuck a bunch or fiber and protein and iron etc. into brownies by adding those beans.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

